You Gon Learn Today

Standard

If you read my last post, you must know I’m watching the Kevin Hart marathon on Comedy Central…

When I was MUCH younger, there were so many things guys could do that would turn me off…so much so, I never had a boyfriend because I would like them one week, and the next week they’d say or do something and I would instantly stop liking them.

I spent 13 years after divorce in the dating pool and met some really great men. But I met some really “interesting” men as well. Of course, for fear I’d be single forever (which I actually used to cry about), I had to re-evaluate what I’d tolerate and what I wouldn’t. So here it goes:

  1. Bad English – I’m an educator, I edit EVERYONE’S grammar, punctuation, use of the English language at ALL TIMES! It’s what I do. And although my senior prom date turned me off the moment he said “tesses” instead of “tests” making sure to pronounce the second “t”, I am no longer THAT hard on men for improper use of words…well, it depends on what word, but it’s no longer THAT serious…with conditions. (Do I sound as if I’m firm on this? No, I’m not, Lol) Sidebar: I had already asked the guy to the prom before he said “tesses” so I couldn’t take back the invite, but understand this…we did NOT have a great time that evening.
  2. Hygiene/Cleanliness – I think they go hand in hand. If you invite me over to your dirty home, there’s something seriously wrong with you. You couldn’t even put up a front like you may have been clean, or even trying to impress me? And don’t think I’m going to ride in your dirty car. I’m a Queen, did you not get that memo?
  3. Teeth – They ALL must be there…I’ll make exceptions for wisdom teeth, as I don’t have mine and you can’t see those when you smile anyway so WHATEVA. OH! And there will be NO dentures. You better save up those pennies for implants, because neither of us will be putting our teeth in a glass at the end of the night…that’s disgusting!

The list can go on, but these are the ones that top the list.

Leave a comment